Skype Communication Project: Guelph MSA- Zentrum für islamische Theologie Tübingen, Germany Ummah

Hey everyone!

On my spare time, I am using facebook to connect my friends from the Guelph Muslim Students’ Association with my young Muslim friends at das Zentrum für islamische Theologie an der Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen, Germany where I studied in 2012. I thought it would be a cool idea for my friends on both continents to connect with one another, and ask each other questions about their experiences as young Muslims in the western world, juggling between dual (or sometimes tripple+) identities, expectations from both their families’ and their countries’ cultural norms, and their own questions of curiosity about Muslims in another part of the world. I noticed in both Canada and Germany, as well as all across the world, the internet has become such an important medium for young Muslims to understand their world, connect with eachother, foster debate, create their own music and other forms of expression, and to keep their faith alive but bring it new, personalised meaning to themselves as the first generation of the 21st Century. 

I have so far posted an inquiry on the facebook group in Germany, and there has been much excitement for it. I still need to find a few minutes as post something to the Muslim Students’ Association facebook page for those friends of mine in Guelph. I cannot wait to see how it all transpires, and which languages will be used to communication, and which mediums aside from skype or facebook. For the English-to-German communication barriers, I am luckily fluent in both languages and can act as a translator, but I also am excited to see those students with Farsi or Arabic as their first languages communicate, as well as those who are from Turkey or Bosnia and other larger ethnicites which are represented in both cities. 

Do you have any questions or comments or suggestions as to what I could add or think about??

Leave a comment